

OSU Boone Pickens School of Geology Advisory Board Agenda Wednesday, February 14, 2024, 3:00 pm CT

via Teleconference

2023-24 Executive Committee: Chair: Mike Gaskins; Chair-Elect: Mike Kuykendall; Secretary: Rebecca Hillman; Past Chair: Patty Walker; Directors: Robert Williams, Kristie Ferguson, Barrett Cieutat

Attendance: Todd Halihan*, Rebecca Hillman, Barrett Cieutat, Bart Gaskill, Larry Gerkin, Mike Gaskins, Jim Puckette*, Robert Williams, Daniel Lao Davila*, Lanny Holman, Kristie Ferguson, Gary Ford, Dylan Morton, Conn Wethington, Nick Colburn*, Yipeng Zhang*, Andrew Katumwehe, Lawrence Walker, Kelsey Bufford, Jake Jones, and Rick Fritz

*Members of OSU Faculty and Staff

Call to order: Mike Gaskins

Approval of minutes from previous meeting: Rebecca Hillman

School

Report of the Head of the School: Dr. Todd Halihan

- Candidate interviews are in progress and will be taking place over the next few weeks
- Open positions include: Teaching assistant professor, assistant professor of energy transition, and assistant professor of near surface geophysics
 - o School will hopefully have selections finalized by the banquet in April
- Please RSVP to Field Camp celebration before the April banquet using the link below
 - o https://cas.okstate.edu/boone pickens school of geology/field camp/75th anniversar y.html

Advisory Board

Report of the Chair: Mike Gaskins

Save-the-date Reminders:

- 2024 Annual Meeting & Banquet Saturday, April 13, 2024
- 75th Anniversary of Field Camp in 2024 (June 7-9, Canon City)

Standing Committees:

Academic Development: Lawrence Walker

Petrel Training Course March 7-8 in Stillwater

Capital Development (Foundation): Nick Colburn

NNTR

Communications: Rick Ely / Patty Walker

NNTR

Honors and Awards: Rebecca Hillman

- Committee has selected Estella Atekwana for the Honorary School of Geology Alumnus Award; Estella has been informed of the award, but will not be able to attend the Banquet
- Kelsey Bufford will present and accept the award on Estella's behalf

Nominating: Logan Chatterton

• Patty has been asked to step in to chair this committee, waiting on confirmation

Professional Relationships: Jake Jones

• Speaker coming to OSU on March 6. Patty and Jake can provide more updates soon.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Kelsey Bufford

Gov. Stitts signed an Executive Order in December 2023 that rescinded funding to DEI initiatives
at public universities. Kelsey will talk to Dr. Jaiswal to determine how this affects our School and
Alumni Board.

(https://oklahoma.gov/governor/newsroom/newsroom/2023/december2023/governor-stitt-signs-anti-discrimination-executive-order--takes-.html#:~:text=Today%2C%20Governor%20Kevin%20Stitt%20signed,outcomes%2C%E2%80%9D%20said%20Governor%20Stitt.)

Past Chairs: Patty Walker

NNTR

Special Committees:

Field Camp: Barrett Cieutat, Brandon Spencer & Todd Halihan

- Architects performed site visit at the camp
- More will be shared at banquet
- Planning on having sketches ready for the June Field Camp celebration

Banquet Committee: Barrett Cieutat

- Invite coming in a few days
- Theme is "Rock the Orange"
- Format will be different than in the past, hopefully more efficient and quicker with a pre-banquet, banquet, and post-banquet celebration
- Keynote speaker is not confirmed yet. If anyone has any ideas, please let Barrett and Mike know ASAP.

Next Meeting:

Annual Meeting & Teleconference on Saturday, April 13, 2024

Meeting adjournment: 4:00pm